Fermented Things Friday: A week in the life of my kitchen

I am really thankful for the many things I have learned, am learning, and will learn, about healthy whole foods! I was reflecting on that this week as I counted up all the natural, delicious foods I’ve made in one week’s time (not all fermented, but many are):

raw milk yogurt (twice)

roasted bones and made beef broth

made a delicious french onion soup from said broth

started another batch of kombucha

finished another batch of kefir

drank chia fresca for the first two times in my life!

sprouted seeds

heated up two ice cubes worth of chicken broth and added salt for a kiddo with a sore throat

ate more of my homemade sauerkraut and bread and butter pickles

used my sourdough starter for bread (and will use it tomorrow for pancakes).

 

Did I ever plan to learn all of this? Is this list kind of mind-boggling? I think if I would have read this list even 6 – 8 months ago, I would have had a panic attack. How? When? WHY? My mind would have reeled with questions. I have found, lately, that these things are coming more naturally. They are fitting in with the general outlook and plan for life — and life has been rearranged to accomodate date these activities.

What is the heart of your home? And, by that I mean, what part of your home gives you energy and peace and happiness? I am very happy when I’m feeding my family delicious healthy food and having fun doing it.

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

