Fermented Things Friday: It’s Five O’ Clock somewhere! Hic!

We attempted our first batch of hard apple cider, and I actually think it turned out OK.

If you go into this adventure expecting, at the end, a fizzy, very sweet beverage that may not even taste like apples — you will be disappointed if you taste mine. I was slightly disappointed when I tried it at first, but — well, read on.

I followed the recipe I found on the Mother Earth News archive, and kept it fermenting away for 3 weeks. When I opened it, I think I nearly singed my eyebrows off when I took a whiff. Whooooo boy, that was some strong stuff! Tasting it, though, it was rather like a dry white wine. Very, very dry.

Hub’band and I decided to let it go another 2 or 3 weeks, and try it again. Some home brewers say things like, “forget about it for a year”, and that may be all well and good, but I don’t think I can wait that long! We plan to open it up this week, and re-taste. If it hasn’t changed, we’ll just fizz and sweeten it with a little Sprite, I think.

Our next home brew project will be honey mead, and I will keep you posted on that!

Cheers!

 

4 thoughts on “Fermented Things Friday: It’s Five O’ Clock somewhere! Hic!

  1. John says:

    I hope the cider improves. I’d love to try some over thanksgiving if you have any left. I am currently fermenting 2 (count em) large jars of kombucha. After my first batch last week, the kombucha turned out good but the Scoby was very thin, so I looked online a bit to see if I can encourage a thicker Scoby. I might have it figured out–we’ll see in a week or two.

    • Laura says:

      We did try it again last weekend, and found that it was quite palatable when mixed with Sprite in about 2/3 Cider to 1/3 Sprite ratio. Hub-band did a 50-/50 and was satisfied with that ratio.
      You’ll have to let me know on the SCOBY, and tell me more about storing my SCOBY in between brewings. Mine is still in the fridge! *gasp* I’m just afraid to leave it out! Help!

  2. Tammy says:

    Fun! I haven’t made it before but maybe I will. I really like non-alcoholic fermented beverages but heck, it’s the holidays!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

