Fermented Things Friday: Restored to Life – I give kefir a second try…

My brother gave me a great birthday gift – kefir grains!

I enthusiastically carried them home from my Easter trip, where I saw him and all my lovely family, in a small plastic tub, and then plopped them in a glass jar, topped it with milk, swirled it around for a few days, then tried to drink it.

And almost threw up.

Yuck.

My first impression of kefir? Nasty. Gross. Don’t like it.

I tried to make smoothies. I tried to sweeten it up. I tried to add spices. I just couldn’t do it!

So, I stuck it in the back of my fridge, in some water, and went on with my life.

For about six weeks.

Now, kefir, as its a fermented milk beverage made such by little ‘grains’ (that really look more like blobby mushroom thingys, see below) is kind of hardy, but not immortal. It can be killed. And I tried, oh, how I did.

Well, not really ON PURPOSE…but….

…anywho, for some reason that is unknown to me, guilt perhaps? The mother in me? Mother-guilt? I got it out of the fridge, rinsed them off, and tried to see if I could ressurect the grains.

After two batches of throwing the milk out, I made a successful batch of kefir!

And, what’s more – I drank it!

Here is my new kefir recipe:

1 Tbl. honey in bottom of tall coffee mug

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp vanilla extract

Then, I use my in-the-glass whisk, and mix it up so it is relatively smooth; no chunks.

I sip it, enjoy the slight effervescent bite, and can’t believe that I almost let my grains go. I don’t know what it was about this time, but it clicked, and I am really enjoying kefir. I drink it 1 – 2 times a week, as its made, and again, just like the fact that I can do this myself, on the counter-top in my kitchen, and it is a great way to use my raw milk, as well as have a probiotic drink that can boost my immune system, among other benefits. Read more about kefir here, and its amazing properties here!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

