Fermented Things Fridays: Scoby-doby-doh?

Since the CSA season is wrapping up for me (sniff, sniff), I’m switching my Friday posting schedule to talking about one of My Favorite Things. No, not kittens, mittens, or things wrapped in brown paper, but. BACTERIA! Read on for the first-ever Fermented Things Friday!

I just made my own SCOBY! What is a SCOBY?

Well, for starters, it isn’t a four-legged crime-solving dog.

That would be a “Scooby”.

A SCOBY is a Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast.

Yum, right?

Actually, it is!

With a SCOBY, you can make, KOMBUCHA! (You can also make other things….Today we’re going to stick to Kombucha. … and I haven’t tried to make anything else yet…)

Kombucha is a fermented tea (often times black, but sometimes green or white) that is said to do a host of good things, such as detoxifying your body (especially your liver and pancreas). It’s also  high in antioxidants and B-vitamins. Some naysayers cite the lack of Western studies (there are several German and Russian studies) as evidence as proof that kombucha does nothing. I think it is fizzy and refreshing, and a good alternative to artifically carbonated things. Plus, its cheap. Plus, its yet another science experiment on my kitchen counter that I can eat or drink.

Science experiment? Yes. “It’s aliiiiiiiiive! Aliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiive!” And, it truly is.

The SCOBY is also called a ‘mother’ – because it helps the kombucha grow and be nurtured. To keep your SCOBY mother healthy, you have to feed her well (tea and sugar and starter tea) and she will produce “babies” which can then be nurtured into mother. Ah, the cycle of life (ok, life of bacteria that you can drink — but still! Anyone else hearing the Lion King theme in their heads right now? ….No?….Okay…moving on…)

You can read more about the health benefits here on the Food Renegade blog, and read about the process of making your very own scoby here (which I did just like it says, and it worked!). Check out my start to finish slideshow below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Fermented Things Fridays: Scoby-doby-doh?

  1. Tammy says:

    We started this about a year ago and have had a lot of fun with it. My favorite is lemon ginger kombucha.

    • Laura says:

      Do you have a recipe on your blog, Tammy? After I read your comment, I was actually finishing a batch of kombucha, so I put half aside in another jar, and put in some thinly sliced ginger (maybe 1 Tbsp) and then the remains (juice and about 7 berries) of a frozen bag of raspberries, then tightly sealed and left on the counter for 24 hours! Fizzy! Flavored! extra yummy…..

      • Tammy says:

        I haven’t yet blogged about kombucha and you’ve already taken the absolute best title of a blog post! 🙂

        Do you also make water kefir?

      • Laura says:

        My brother has started making water kefir with milk kefir grains — he said its working out ok, but he wants to get some ‘actual’ water kefir grains. All of which doesn’t make a ton of sense to me, because I’ve not tried water kefir yet.

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

