Looking at Wheat Wednesday: Got wheat, or…NOT wheat? Part 1…

Hey all – thanks for your patience as I took a short hiatus to tool up my bloggin’ plans, and start homeschoolin’ my kiddos. Yeah, that’s just another wacky cool thing I do! 😉 I’ve been reading about grain-free stuff lately, so I’m going to devote the next couple’a’ Wednesdays to talking about what I’m learning and thinking about.

I have finished reading a very interesting book called, “Wheat Belly” by William Davis, MD, and am quite taken with trying to give up wheat. Having a gluten-sensitive son has diminished our family’s intake of wheat already, but reading the information in the book, and other recent blog posts on the same topic, have really made me consider seriously if wheat, as we know it, should be eaten at all!

Wheat has been altered by cross-breeding and gene modification in the past 40 years or so. The alteration has made it more productive and predictable, which is helpful to farmers, but the altering of its structure as a plant has left some question as to what it really does to humans. Because cross-breeding is practice that has been done for generations, and something that has happened naturally since the first nomads became the first farmers, it wasn’t questioned as to whether the lab-variety crossbreeding should be tested. Now, with increased outcry that Genetically Modified Organisms SHOULD (have been!!) BE tested, wheat’s lab cross-breeding also is being questioned.

The book, and others like it, are worth a read, in my opinion. Did you know that two slices of  ‘healthy whole grain bread’ raise your blood sugar more than a Snickers bar? This is bad news for people who already struggle with blood sugar issues of many kinds. And, bread, while making you feel full pretty fast, also doesn’t last (the way protein, or other carbohydrates like as in veggies) do – so you want to eat more. Wheat stimulates your appetite. You eat more.

Which leads to ‘wheat belly’ – and most people in the US sport one, large or small. I decided to give up wheat for a week, to see how I felt, and if it made any difference in my own body.

I lost 5 pounds, and I felt great. I truly didn’t crave afternoon sweets or carbs as I used to. I gave it up for another week. After a large pasta dinner, I woke the next morning feeling groggy, bloated, and depressed. Was it the wheat? Could it have affected me so much?

And, what could I do? Myself, giving up wheat, is one thing. But I have 5 guys to feed that already are always hungry. And while they’re good at eating vegetables, they do crave those filling breads. I’m not sure quite what the future holds, but I would like to see us lessen our dependence on whole wheat bread.

More on this story as it develops. What do you think? Conspiracy theory, or sound science?

4 thoughts on “Looking at Wheat Wednesday: Got wheat, or…NOT wheat? Part 1…

  1. John says:

    Hi laura, does the book address eating oat bread or barley bread etc? Wole grained of course and is whole grained wheat the same as refined.

    • Laura says:

      Hi, John 😉 Yes, the book’s author is strongly opinionated and has a pretty big list of what he recommends eating, eating in limited amounts, and eating rarely/never. He suggests limiting ALL grains, overall, and so that would mean keeping other grain servings to a 1/2 c. per meal, I believe (though I need to go back and look at that again, so don’t quote me on that). I would be interested to know what you think of the book. It was provocative, to say the least. He says that the ADA recommendations of whole grains are not good — which is kind of a shockwave to what most of us believe and how we structure our eating.

  2. John says:

    I’m interested in reading this book! As a college student, I don’t have as much control over what I’m served every day, but there are definitely wheat-free options if I try. In fact I think we can request gluten free meals–I should look into that. There’s definitely an overabundance of white pasta and white bread at the dining center…One of the biggest annoyances is that if I could I would have oatmeal with peanut butter for breakfast every day, but it seems like they serve cream of wheat instead, about 2/3 of the time.

    • Laura says:

      That would be interesting if you can report back, and tell us what you find on your campus. You may not control the menu, but you do choose what you put in your mouth and chew – yea, verily. And yes, read the book – tell me what you think. I keep wondering – am i just too impressionable? But, seriously, the book made a BIG impression on me, and did change the way I think about the common gluten-free foods we, as a family, had/have been eating, too. More on that NEXT week….

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

