CSA Survival Tip #6: Freeze Corn with your Kids.

I truly do like to garden, preserve food, cook, and do quirky things like have backyard chickens in the city. But, I’m also a wife and mom (in fact, that comes first! Always!), and while my family supports me, I don’t want to let my interests totally take over so that I’m ignoring the family. Which, I have to admit,is hard as the interests sometimes take up a lot of time and brain space.

So, to that end, I try to teach and involve them when possible. One such example (and a successful one!) was preserving a batch (10 ears) of frozen sweet corn!

I could have my 6 year old time the already-husked ears in the the pot of boiling water, and with my supervision, he could use a long tongs to take the ears out of the water, and put them in our sink full of cold water and ice cubes.

My 8 year old could measure out two cups of corn into prepared freezer bags. My 5 year old could open the bags for him.

I cut the kernels off the cob and into a glass pan. I then later sealed them up with a borrow ‘Food Saver’ type device.

It was actually *gasp* fun. I hope we’ll be able to do this more in the future. We froze enough corn for 4 side dish meals, in about 45 minutes. I thought that was pretty good. And, it was time that mom was not lost in her own ‘food preservation’ world, but I could involve them and we could just talk and be together as we did it. Nice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “CSA Survival Tip #6: Freeze Corn with your Kids.

  1. inherchucks says:

    Looks like a blast! Always fun to have little hands helping 🙂

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance..http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/13/whats-in-the-box-43/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  2. Tammy says:

    It’s such a great practice to get your kids involved in the kitchen. Good job!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

