Getting away…

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I do sometimes struggle with the city vs country question. I tend to (perhaps like many city dwellers with limited to no farming/rural experience)  idealize the country. Won’t it keep on looking like the pictures I see in the real estate directory online — without me having to do work? Certainly! And, if you ‘get away’  by moving to the country, where do you go to get away now? Someone answer me that!

Today, though, I’m enjoying a ‘getaway’, and enjoying a sorta rural place, with lots of green growing things, and I don’t have to tend to it at all – just enjoy it. My parents (and my husband!) gave me the gift of two nights away, and being taken care of. Lovely. I’m used to taking  care of Little seeds, and seeds, and chicks, and…ahhh, this is nice.

Even while ‘getting away’, I see fun plants, get reinvigorated to care for my 4 Little Seeds (ages 8, 6, 5, and 2), and be a caretaker of my beloved spouse, as well as caring for the 18th of an acre of land that we humbly steward.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder, and this time away is truly healing.

It makes me question in my mind whether the ‘lure’ of the country life is a way to escape the busy-ness of life. And, knowing that life is busy no matter where one lives, I try to focus on being grateful for wherever I am.

As I tap on these keys, I am seeing the whitecaps on the lake, hearing a beautiful golden lab give bark heartily at a passing squirrel, and have two plants to look up – they will be googled shortly.

But, the main thing I’m thinking of – the breeze. It is just so beautiful through the trees. A little slice of heaven.

Heaven, the ultimate ‘get away’ location, will undoubtedly have some great trees.

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

