CSA Survival Tip #5: Roast, Pickle and Freeze Peppers

Have you eaten enough fresh sweet and hot peppers yet? If you can’t keep up, try these simple methods to preserve the rest!

I was inundated over a couple of weeks with just toooo many. Especially with the hotter peppers, I use them seldom at this point, and so needed to ‘deal with them’, because heaven forbid I would throw them away! Unthinkable.

A recipe for roasting:

Toss very lightly with an oil of your choice (or drizzle over) Lay the peppers on a baking sheet. I cut the tops off mine, but did not seed them. Broil at 500 for 5-7 minutes at a time, turning, until they’ve developed a brown, charred exterior. Some people then take the skin off (perhaps putting in a container, like a glass pan covered with a towel, to continue steaming, for a few more minutes, say, 10), but I just let them cool, and put them in freezer safe baggies. This was the first time I’ve tried this, and apparently the hotter peppers tend to mild and sweeten with this treatment. We shall see.

 

A recipe for pickling:

I used a post on The Purple Foodie blog as a reference, and this post referenced another blog, with a helpful tip about knowing how much pickling liquid to prepare: Fill your jar with sliced jalapeno or mixed peppers. Then, top up with water. Pour the water out into a measuring cup, and once you take that measurement, dump half the water out, and add apple cider vinegar to make up the amount you lost. Genius!

I then adjusted the spice ratio according to the Purple Foodie recipe, and it really couldn’t have been simpler! I left my two jars of pickled jalapenos out on the counter for about 5 days, and have just stuck them in the fridge. My hausband who is the pickled jalapeno pepper, will give a final pronouncement on that sooner, I would expect.

A recipe for freezing:

Slice, or leave whole. Seed peppers (or don’t). Put in a baggie or freezer safe container. Put in freezer. Simple!

I do miss peppers in the winter, and last year is seemed like I froze a TON — then ran out about December (and that was using them sparingly, frugally). It is humbling to consider how much fresh food a family would need to preserve to get them through the winter.

One thought on “CSA Survival Tip #5: Roast, Pickle and Freeze Peppers

  1. inherchucks says:

    Another great post! I haven’t received any peppers in my share but so many of my CSA Link party participants have. These tips are sure to come in handy.

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/06/whats-in-the-box-42-a-giveaway/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

