CSA Survival Tip #4: Conquering Weird Vegetables You Never Heard Of

I’m back with a survival tip this Friday!

Consider this a tip, or a challenge – but either way, hear me on this – every vegetable is a victory!

It has taken me 4 CSA seasons to conquer FENNEL.

I’m not a person that enjoys a lot of anise taste. And this kept me scared enough from trying to do much with fennel.

The first year we joined our CSA, we received several humungous bulbs of fennel. And I considered the options: I didn’t have any ideas, and I didn’t like how it smelled. I tried to give it away, and ended up composting it.

Sad, as I just made the most amazing soup, and thus: Victory (and good health, good stewardship, and all kinds of good stuff) is mine!

So, my advice in this tip is kind of an old adage, applied to the CSA: If at first you don’t succeed in eating it, try, try, try some more recipes. Click here to see my fennel soup recipe.

What veggie still has you stumped?

3 thoughts on “CSA Survival Tip #4: Conquering Weird Vegetables You Never Heard Of

  1. inherchucks says:

    I was lucky to find a successful fennel recipe on my first try…here’s the link…http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/02/braised-pork-with-orange-and-fennel/.

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…. http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/23/whats-in-the-box-40/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

  2. Tammy says:

    I adore fennel. The weirdest thing I’ve received was black radishes and frankly, I’m okay if I don’t get any more of them.

    • Laura says:

      Black radishes? Wow — that would maybe be an acquired visual (rather than an acquired taste?) – Did they taste like ‘real’ radishes? Does bring to mind the issue that not as many varieties are commonly grown as exist! Making places like seed banks very important! Thanks for the comment, Tammy –

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

