What’s Up Wednesday, June 13th, 2012

Behold – there are baby peppers in my garden! I also would have had a picture of three ripe strawberries, but they needed to be sneakily eaten, by me, before the kids found them. There will be more strawberries for them next year. 😉 Beans are growing, raspberries are starting to show hints of pink, and some of the tomatoes are flowering. Also included is a picture of the weeding I accomplished today. Sigh of relief – and joy. With raised beds, weeds are fewer, and when you mulch between your boxes, its even fewer!

That’s What’s Up this Wednesday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday, June 13th, 2012

  1. Holly Stewart says:

    When did you plant and how does a raised bed help with weeds?

    • Laura says:

      I planted my seeds on the Sat. before Memorial Day weekend – beets, beans (green and violet), peas, and some quinoa – a few marigold seeds as well. My others, peppers, tomatoes, herbs – were all bought as veggie starts, most from the Lakes and Valley CSA, which offered this to members. So – I definitely got a head start with these beautiful veggie plants – the tomatoes were almost a foot high when I got them the weekend before Mem. Day weekend!

      A raised bed is filled with a dirt mixture of your choosing (there are a few recommended combinations, but I personally do a mixture of free compost from the city, a little topsoil, and some potting mix. I’ve also added a bit of peat moss in the past, too). Because its not ‘in the ground’, and never walked on (my raised beds are all less than 4 feet across, so I just reach in to weed, harvest, etc), the soil stays nice and fluffy. And, since I chose the dirt, there are less weeds coming up than there would be if I turned over the ground in my yard (which I have done, too — and though it also works, and can work quite well, I just don’t have a ton of time to weed).

      Thanks for the great questions (and the comment!) –

  2. Peppers are always fun to grow! AND boy do I know what you mean about eating the strawberries…hehehe.. next year GROW more and then you can eat more and still have some to pick! LOL! 😛

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, totally! I planted 10 last fall….then 10 more when those didn’t make it. This year I had *2* come back! 😉 So, thus the main reason to be sneaky. I was just reading in my new favorite book (The Food Lover’s Garden) that strawberries aren’t too tough to grow from seed — so maybe I’ll give that a try!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

