Beneficial Bugs….for you to eat…

As promised, a list of some probiotic things You, Too,(like me!) can make in your home! With simple equipment you already have! With things you’ve already bought from the grocery store or a local farmer’s market! This is not rocket science, but a rather long-standing tradition of letting things go bad on purpose. With great, great benefits! Its like a lazy cooks guide to eating healthy. Love it.

Gut flora, gut health, beneficial bacteria — this is so important! Our gut acts like a ‘second brain’, which helps us to live a healthy life. Our intestinal health is important to our overall health, which we’d all love to be optimal, I’m sure. Having good bacteria helps break down our food, and if we’re eating healthily, the good bacteria in our ‘gut’ helps us get the most  from the healthy food we eat! Everything runs smoothly when we’ve got these good bugs inside us. I am even MORE aware of this after I suffered a weeklong bout with a nasty intestinal malady recently. I am very thankful for the good health I generally enjoy!

I wish I had more time to write this week – I simply can’t say enough about how relatively easy these are, and really fun! The feeling you get when you make something yourself is just so great.

Yogurt – and along with that, soft  ‘yogurt cheese’

Kefir

Sourdough bread starter

Sauerkraut

Fermented carrots

Brined pickles

My recommended resources for tutorials on these topics (and I would love to write about each of them in depth at some point!):

the Wild Fermentation website

Nourishing Traditions, and the Weston A Price website

Simply in Season cookbook and website

4 thoughts on “Beneficial Bugs….for you to eat…

  1. Tammy says:

    Great topic. I just made our morning kefir and am getting ready to do a similar post. Love the bug photo.

  2. Matthew I says:

    You know of my love for things fermented, and most of these I’m at least familiar, if I’ve not made them. But yogurt cheese? Please tell me you’ll have a post on this at some point.

    • Laura says:

      Hi, Matthew! Hey, good idea, I will do a post on yogurt cheese! So, look for that in the next week or so – it has been busy around here, and I have missed two whole weeks of posting! Cannot believe it!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

