Foodie Movie: Dive!

Oh, how I enjoy Netflix. Maybe its because we don’t have cable. Maybe its because we get no reception anyway. But, probably its because there really isn’t anything worth watching on TV, and I really don’t like commercials.

I don’t get a whole lot of ‘moving-screen’ time, so I do like the option of carefully selecting what I’m watching. That includes loading up my Netflix queue with interesting things, for those odd moments when I have time to watch something, and I don’t want to spend hours going through looking for something.

DakotaPam watched Dive!, and I had watched it a week or two prior to meeting her. Her post reminded me *I* mean to post about this movie. So, thanks, DakotaPam!

The documentary follows California residents who get most of their food from dumpsters. And though they’re a little scruffy looking, they’re not homeless. Besides noting where they’re food comes from, they are pretty average blokes like you and me. The film tracks food waste, and what we can do about it.

Some may choose to dive for themselves, and some, like those profiled in the film, dive for others – rescuing food for homeless shelters, or petitioning the grocery stores to get more involved in saving the food from the dumpster.

Did you know….

…one half of all food prepared in the US and Europe never gets eaten?

… “The Department of Agriculture estimated in 1996 that recovering just 5 percent of the food that is wasted could feed four million people a day; recovering 25 percent would feed 20 million people. Today we recover less than 2.5 percent.” ( from the Dive website – you can view a trailer of the film there, too.

Locally, the Great Plains Food Bank helps to recover food to serve area residents who are hungry. Hunger can be a hidden problem – many of us don’t want to believe that kids go hungry here. That adults come home from work and don’t have anything to eat. Elderly residents have too much month at the end of the money, and can’t afford food.

I am so opposed to wasting food – I am frugal, and I love people. No one should have an empty belly. Statistics like those above, about food waste, make me feel ill.

Two things I really enjoy related to not wasting food are using up leftovers, and cleaning out the pantry. I’ll be posting on those throughout the next 40 days, as mindfulness about these things is part of my own Lenten observance.

What food movies have made a different in your life? I’d love to add them to my queue.

3 thoughts on “Foodie Movie: Dive!

  1. Suzanne says:

    Your post reminded me not of food movies, but books about food. Right now I’m reading “Kitchen Chinese” by Ann Mah. It’s a fun little read about an American-born Chinese woman who moves to Beijing and becomes a food journalist. The descriptions of dumplings alone makes me salivate! Another great foodie book is “Under the Tuscan Sun” by Frances Mayes.

    • Laura says:

      Awesome! I will add those to my list, Suzanne! I was thinking it would be fun to have a “Foodie Book and Movie” recommendation post every week/month or something – would you ever be interested in cross posting the food books you read to my blog? 😉 Something to think about — I really enjoy your reviews at coldread.wordpress.com!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

