Lost: Fat

“Just the fats, Ma’am.”

“Fat-tastic”

“Fun with our favorite fats”

…Those were some of the rejected titles of this first post in a succession of fatty posts. But, in keeping with my original thoughts with this blog – to reconsider knowledge lost to us, to discover and find new food sources, and to keep it local – I decided to make sure you would be intrigued enough to read more.

Do I still have you? Maybe this picture will help.

Here we have, from L to R:  Natural expeller-pressed grapeseed oil, real butter, olive oil, beef tallow, chicken fat (or schmaltz) and pork lard. The last three I “made” myself, with a liiiiittle help from animals of  course. Local, organically and humanely raised animals, I might add. These are the current fats in my kitchen, and I use them for baking, sauteeing, putting on toast, and to grease the odd muffin tin.

Are you afraid of fats? I hope that by reading my “Lost” posts on the subject you’ll lose a little fear, and get into using real fat. Its way healthier for you. Seriously.

Look for the first installment next week on Monday.

In the meantime, consider your current relationship with fat. Do you fear it, or embrace it – in your cooking?

4 thoughts on “Lost: Fat

  1. Cora says:

    Just this past few months we have been moving away from the fear of fat. It was actually very freeing! 🙂 We are using the same grape seed oil, butter, olive oil and coconut oil. I look forward to hearing about how you make your own animal fats.

    • Laura says:

      Oh yes, coconut oil! I forgot to put that in my line-up of ‘the usual suspect fats’! I have found coconut oil makes a nice popcorn popping oil (if you don’t let your pan get too hot). I am still learning about using coconut oil in making baked goods, because the ratios are a little different – I’m glad to hear of your freeing-from-fat-fear adventures. Look forward to hearing more from your journey as well! Thanks, Cora!

  2. Suzanne says:

    I’m a big supporter of butter and olive oil. The flavors of these natural fats are delicious. I also love White Truffle oil for sauteeing vegetables. It’s an organic expeller-produced Sunflower oil infused with white truffle extract. Once you try it, you’ll never go back!

    • Laura says:

      Oooh, that White Truffle oil sounds really awesome! I agree, butter and olive oil have such pleasing flavors. I’m really enjoying experimenting with grapeseed oil, too – as it really has ‘no’ flavor — so you can do a lot of things with it, for the times when you don’t want a heavy flavor. It is good to have a lot of fats in the arsenal!

Comments are appreciated, and help us all learn more. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

